What are the penalties of drunk driving in the state of Texas?
December 18, 2017 - Uncategorized
If you have recently been stopped for a DUI, you are probably wondering what this means for your future and your license. In the state of Texas, there are several laws put into place that governs driving while intoxicated or under the influence of alcohol. If you’re in the car with a child passenger, you could be met with a fine of over $10,000 and a 2-year jail sentence.
For those who have the DUI and are dealing with a first offense, you will receive a fine up to $2,000, three to 180 days in jail, the loss of your driver’s license and a bill totaling up to $2,000 annually to retain your driver’s license. As a second offense, all of these instances will double and with a third offense, you can expect to deal with triple the sentence. Because of the large implications put against you by the state of Texas even for your first offense, it is no wonder that many people get lawyers involved so that they do not get hit with everything at once. Even the annual fee of $2,000 to retain your license is a lot for people who have other bills and responsibilities to worry about.
If you have been involved in a DUI or have been in an accident while intoxicated, it is time for you to contact Reyna Law Firm. They are there to help you with this particular case to ensure that you get out with as little to deal with as possible. The state of Texas is incredibly strict with alcohol and driving when they’re mixed, so it’s important to work with a local lawyer who is going to assist you with the case. Reyna Law Firm are there to assist you in any way that they can so that you can simply get back to life and deal with the fines in a more affordable manner that is not going to break the bank.
For more information click here