Sustaining a spinal cord injury due to another’s negligence can be a traumatic and stressful time. In addition to the physical pain associated with your injuries, you must also deal with medical bills and lost wages. If you or someone you love has suffered a spinal cord injury at the hands of another, it may benefit you to speak with a Corpus Christi spinal cord injury lawyer for advice.
How Texas Personal Injury Law Works
If your injuries were due to someone else’s negligence, you may be entitled to obtain compensation. In Texas, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is 2 years from the date of the accident. Failing to file a claim before the statute of limitations runs out may cause your claim to be thrown out of court. When injuries are the result of a government employee’s negligence, you have just 6 months to file a claim.
What Damages Can I Collect?
Personal injury law allows you to obtain a fair settlement for the injuries that occurred in an accident. You may be able to receive compensation for:
– Ambulance Fees
– Hospital Bills
– Medical Devices
– Doctor Fees
– Transportation Costs
– Lost Wages
If your spinal cord injury caused you to be permanently disabled, you may be able to ask for future lost wages. This rule also applies if you cannot return to the same line of work due to your injury and make less money.
For your personal injury claim to be successful, you must be able to prove the other party involved was careless or reckless and it caused your injuries. Texas has a modified comparative negligence rule, which means your compensation may be diminished if the court finds that you were partially to blame for the accident.
Contact a Corpus Christi spinal cord injury lawyer to discuss all the options available to you under Texas law. Taking the step to hire a lawyer can greatly reduce the stress and anxiety associated with a personal injury case.